A freakin’ robot butler, dudes. Srsly.

Posted: May 25, 2012 in Projects
Tags: , , , ,

Hello! I’ve started making plans for my next project: a robot butler who will fetch me beer. Here’s the idea:

  • Lego Mindstorms control unit – easy to hack and send my own commands to/from.
  • Lego motors, wheels and gears etc. to create a versatile,┬ámaneuverable platform thing.
  • Kinect sensor to assess the environment
  • Raspberry Pi to think about where the robot is looking, where it might go and to send the necessary commands to the Mindstorms unit.
  • Leapmotion controller to sense me pointing to the fridge, thus commanding the robot to retrieve beer.

What do you think? I for one welcome our new beer-fetching robot overlords.

I should make special mention of the new Leap Motion device. If it works as well as the demos have shown it will be a truly stunning, possibly revolutionary gadget. I’ve applied to be a developer for this amazing piece of kit. My pitch was the robot butler thing. Hopefully the Leap people like me and my half-baked ideas.

Comments
  1. Rich Thomas says:

    Until it can make a passable cup of tea, I’m not interested…

Leave a Reply

