My study blog

Posted: September 6, 2010 in Infrastructure Management and Disaster Recovery
Hi. I’m Steve.

This semester I’m going to try something new. I’m going to blog about my studies.

The module content for Infrastructure Management and Disaster Recovery looks substantial, wide-ranging and complex. I figured that it might help me keep track of my progress if I write about it. I’m not sure why or how this might work, but it might.

Writing a blog entry every day will also give me some sort of closure on the study period, so I can go to sleep with a clear mind, ready to tacke the next subject the following day. Maybe.

Let’s see how this goes!

Steve

[Edit] Hmm…no rich edit on the iPad.

Comments
  1. Steve says:

    iPad test.

  2. Tony says:

    How’s your timetable looking now?

  3. Steve says:

    I have a timetable! I gotta say, the timetabling system is FREAKIN’ AWESOME. I gotta say that because I implemented it.My actual timetable, though: not too great. Thursday mornings and Friday afternoone in Cambridge (from Chelmsford). I’m in for a tiring semester…

  4. Tony says:

    ouchies that isn’t pleasant. I am 1-5 tuesday afternoon which isn’t too bad. I think it is very sensible to put part-time students always on one day per semester.

  5. Steve says:

    "I think it is very sensible to put part-time students always on one day per semester."And therein lies our proverbial issue: we have a small estate in relation to our number of students when compared with similar institutions. This makes timetabling constraints such as this very difficult to achieve. Probably impossible, actually. Our new timetabling software has a very good attempt at scheduling stuff like this, but the more constraints we add the slower the software performs, naturally.

  6. Steve says:

    Actually, it slows so much that the Timetabling team would spend the rest of their lives looking at an hour glass. So a compromise has to exist, and I guess this is it. If you can find a way of timetabling quickly and effectively, taking into account the many and various constraints we need, you could become very rich very quickly ;)Final year dissertation subject?

  7. Tony says:

    sounds more like a doctural research project to me

Leave a Reply

