How to sync your mobile device to your new Anglia Ruskin Live@Edu account

Posted: September 7, 2010 in Live@Edu
You’ve probably got one of those fancy new smart phones, right? Even if you have an older model, chances are you can sync your Live@Edu account with it, giving you your student mail, calendar and contacts in your hand wherevber you are. Here’s how to do it:

You need to find your email settings screen. Add a new account. If you are given the option you want to add a new ‘Microsoft Exchange (Active Sync)’ account. Enter the following settings:

Email address: [firstname.lastname]@student.anglia.ac.uk
Domain: Do not enter a domain
Username: [username]@student.anglia.ac.uk
Password: [your password]

Your mobile device should be clever enough to find your mailbox on the Microsoft server farm. It will look something like this: pod51008.outlook.com. No need to change this. Just accept it and continue.

You are now able to sync mail, calendar and contacts to your device. You can choose the frequency with which your mobile polls the server, which has an impact on your data usage and how quickly you receive new messages. Some devices accept push notifications, which will mean very fast notifications but potentially higher data usage. You’ll also be able to select how many message to sync back.

Any mail, contacts or calendar entries you make on your phone will be instantly available online and vice versa. Pretty cool, eh?

Hopefully someone finds this useful! (Except I have no readers at the moment, so maybe not…)

Steve.

Comments
  1. Paul says:

    There’s also *some* support for hotmail accounts, although Android 2.1 doesn’t look that well supported. More information here: http://windowslivehelp.com/solution.aspx?solutionid=46bd910c-ed99-497d-80d7-ab8b11237ed0

  2. Steve says:

    I’ve just found out that it’s possible to ‘link’ two Live/Hotmail accounts together. So a student who already has a Hotmail account who doesn’t want to have to check two Hotmail-type accounts can merge them into one, unifying their inbox. I’m going to experiment with this later and will post my findings up here!

  3. paul Macefield says:

    Hi Steve,

    I’m one of your readers, keep up the good work on all of this.

    CHeers Paul – Library

  4. olaleye says:

    can someone tell me how to link my student window live email account to my android smartphone. i have android 2.0

    • rymixxx says:

      Hi. I don’t know precisely how to do this as I don’t have access to an Android phone, but I know that lots of people have this set up and working fine. Try adding a mail account and use similar settings to those described here…it must work in the same way.
      Steve

      • olaleye says:

        hello steve, i have just checked my android smartphone again and notice that it says my android version is 2.2.1 Can someone tell me if that is version 2.2 or 2.1 Also can you tell me step by step of how to sync my mobile device with my live@edu account. i followed all the necessary steps and everything went fine as my email account was recognised but when i click finished which is the last step to sync the email with my phone it always come up with error. is it because android software is not supported? Thank you, hope to hear from you soon. leye

  5. olaleye says:

    hello steve, i have just checked my android smartphone again and notice that it says my android version is 2.2.1 Can someone tell me if that is version 2.2 or 2.1 Also can you tell me step by step of how to sync my mobile device with my live@edu account. i followed all the necessary steps and everything went fine as my email account was recognised but when i click finished which is the last step to sync the email with my phone it always come up with error. is it because android software is not supported? Thank you, hope to hear from you soon. leye

  6. lloyd says:

    hi steve i too ave gotten nowhere with trying to sync my student email via micrososf exchange/ activesnyc account with my android 2.3.3 (gingerbread) phone the details required are as follows :

    email address firstname.surname@student.anglia.ac.uk
    password same as my anglia/university library log in
    domain username ABC123@student.anglia.ac.uk
    exchange server pod51008.outlook.com
    use secure connection SSL checked box
    Accept all SSL certificates checked box

    i then tried using windows live which asks which protocol my email used i have tried with both pop3 and imap account settings but still not able to connect…

    • rymixxx says:

      It’s been a while since I looked at this, but I know that Android has some strange security settings. You might want to look at your notifications and see if it mentions something about security for ActiveSync/Exchange accounts. If you click on that notification you can authorise the account to make a connection from your phone to the server.

      I’ll try hooking my account up to the student email system again and I’ll post about what I find…tomorrow, hopefully.

  7. paul Macefield says:

    HI Steve,

    we’ve found that if you try to many times to set up/validate the sync, then Microsoft LIve locks the accounts as it thinks it is being hacked/. A password reset via http://www.anglia.ac.uk/mypassword does tend to work – albeit on Iphones and Ipads, might work on the Androids to.

    Paul

Leave a Reply

