When Kinect and Music Man Stingray collide

Posted: March 15, 2011 in Independent Learning Module, Kinect, Music, Research Methods
Tags: , , , , , ,

I grabbed some screenshots and videos for my Modules this semester, so I thought I’d share them with you too. I like them because I think they show Kinect’s dept-sensing capabilities rather well. Please excuse the playing, though. I haven’t picked up the bass for a long time…

The first video just shows depth as different colour yellows.

The second video is a bit psychedelic. It has a repeated range of  colour bands which are allocated to every (range of) pixel(s) at the same depth from the camera, much like isobars on a weather map.

So what do you reckon? If my career as a computer scientist fails do I have a shot at being a pub musician? (Tips in the pint glass at the bar, thanks.)

Leave a Reply

